MicroServer FreeNAS project Update! Part 3

So i’ve sat down and done a bit of research on some of the NAS like operating systems around. Originally Freenas Corral is what got me so interested in building my own. I’ve had a look today and iX have dropped Corral completely and have no intention of updating it. I thought the whole UI change was quite nice and its a shame to see all that effort gone to waste.

2017-09-15.png

Freenas 11.0 U3 is available right now however i’ve been using it in a VM and i cant say i like it over corral. Now I acknowledge that I don’t yet understand the key differences between corral and 11.0 but from a fresh set of eye and around 2 – 3 playing around with both of them corral felt so much more easy to achieve what I wanted. So as a result of this i’ve decided to have a bit of a poke around until freenas 11.1 is out (hopefully with native docker support) and see what other systems have to offer!

The list i have compiled is related to what interested me enough to download an ISO and have a play in ESXi to see how easy they were to understand or just get the job done.

  • Freenas 11.0 U3 / Corral
  • Nas4Free 11.1.0.4.4551
  • xpenology
  • unRAID
  • Open Media Vault

I might go through an do a mini review on each of these after i have had a chance to play with them. So far (after some light reading) xpenology looks like it might be able to achieve until FreeNas 11.1 comes out but unRAID also looks very interesting. If I look at upgrading the CPU on the Gen8 micro server to a low powered xeon it would be a very powerful little box.

Leave a comment